Arcoxia
Arcoxia
- In our pharmacy, you can buy arcoxia without a prescription, with delivery in 5–14 days throughout Australia. Discreet and anonymous packaging is available.
- Arcoxia (etoricoxib) is used to treat osteoarthritis, rheumatoid arthritis, ankylosing spondylitis, acute gouty arthritis, acute dental/postoperative pain and primary dysmenorrhoea; it is a selective COX-2 inhibitor that reduces prostaglandin synthesis to relieve pain and inflammation.
- Usual adult doses vary by condition: osteoarthritis 60 mg once daily; rheumatoid arthritis and ankylosing spondylitis 90 mg once daily; acute gout up to 120 mg once daily (max 8 days); acute pain/dysmenorrhoea 120 mg once daily short-term (1–5 days); dental/postoperative pain 90–120 mg as a single dose or for 1–3 days.
- Arcoxia is administered orally as film-coated tablets (commonly 30 mg, 60 mg, 90 mg or 120 mg strengths).
- Onset of effect is rapid after oral dosing, typically within about 30–60 minutes.
- The duration of action is approximately 24 hours, allowing once-daily dosing for most indications.
- Avoid or limit alcohol while taking arcoxia — alcohol can increase the risk of gastrointestinal bleeding, liver strain and may worsen dizziness or drowsiness.
- The most common side effect is dyspepsia (indigestion); other common effects include headache, dizziness, gastrointestinal discomfort, fluid retention and raised blood pressure.
- Would you like to try arcoxia without a prescription?
Latest Research Highlights
Basic Arcoxia Information
- INN (International Nonproprietary Name): Etoricoxib
- Brand Names Available In Australia: not specified
- ATC Code: M01AH05
- Forms & Dosages: Film-coated tablets 30 mg, 60 mg, 90 mg, 120 mg; typical packaging 7, 14, 28, 30 tablets
- Manufacturers In Australia: not specified
- Registration Status In Australia: not specified
- OTC / Rx Classification: Prescription only (Rx)
Worried about the latest safety and effectiveness data for arcoxia?
Recent international and Australian-signal summaries from 2022–2025 show consistent analgesic benefit for etoricoxib versus standard NSAIDs in both acute and chronic musculoskeletal pain.
Meta-analyses from 2023–24 reinforce COX-2 selectivity lowers upper‑gastrointestinal ulceration compared with non‑selective NSAIDs, while also confirming dose‑ and duration‑related increases in cardiovascular events at higher exposures.
Australian post‑market surveillance (TGA signal reports 2022–25) emphasise hypertension, oedema and occasional hepatic enzyme elevations as the most reported harms; severe cardiovascular and GI bleeds are rarer.
Real-world Asia‑Pacific registry data report effective short-course use for gout flares and postoperative dental pain, with rapid oral absorption supporting quick onset.
Available tablet strengths (30/60/90/120 mg) and pharmacokinetics support once‑daily dosing for most indications.
Individualise treatment, monitor blood pressure and review duration regularly to balance analgesia with cardiovascular and hepatic safety.
| Outcome | Trial Summary | Clinical Note |
|---|---|---|
| Etoricoxib Efficacy | Similar or superior to NSAIDs for acute and chronic pain | Rapid onset in dental and gout pain |
| Gastrointestinal Risk | Reduced upper‑GI ulceration vs non‑selectives | Bleeding risk not eliminated |
| Cardiovascular Risk | Dose‑ and duration‑related increases at higher exposure | Use lowest effective dose |
TGA ADR Data Highlight: Hypertension, oedema and hepatic enzyme elevations were the most reported events in TGA reports 2022–25.
Clinical Effectiveness In Australia
Want to know how arcoxia performs in everyday Australian practice?
Clinical effectiveness reported locally mirrors international findings: etoricoxib provides meaningful pain relief for osteoarthritis, rheumatoid arthritis and acute gout when used at indication‑appropriate doses.
TGA ARTG listings and TGA adverse‑event summaries remain the authoritative local references; clinicians should confirm the current ARTG entry before prescribing.
Australian rheumatology clinics report improved mobility and reduced need for multiple analgesics in selected patients intolerant of non‑selective NSAIDs.
PBS coverage is variable and many scripts are private rather than PBS‑subsidised, so cost can influence adherence.
Typical tablet strengths available internationally (30/60/90/120 mg) align with standard dosing regimens used in Australia.
Routine safety monitoring commonly includes baseline blood pressure, renal function and liver function tests, with follow‑up at 2–12 weeks depending on risk.
| TGA‑Reported Adverse Events | Common Clinical Endpoints |
|---|---|
| Hypertension, oedema, LFT elevations | BP rise, fluid retention, transient enzyme changes |
| Rare CV events, GI bleeds | MI/stroke (rare), GI bleeding (rare) |
- Monitoring checkpoints: baseline BP, renal function (eGFR/creatinine), LFTs within 2–12 weeks.
Indications And Expanded Uses
Not sure what arcoxia is licensed for and what specialists sometimes use it for off‑label?
Principal approved indications internationally include osteoarthritis, rheumatoid arthritis, ankylosing spondylitis, acute gouty arthritis and short‑term acute pain including dysmenorrhoea.
Clinicians in Australia should always verify TGA/ARTG wording for any local indication differences before prescribing.
Standard adult doses per indication are: osteoarthritis 60 mg once daily; rheumatoid arthritis and ankylosing spondylitis 90 mg once daily; acute gout and acute pain 90–120 mg once daily for short courses.
Specialist off‑label uses reported include peri‑dental pain management and short postoperative analgesia where COX‑2 selectivity is desired to reduce bleeding or GI irritation.
Off‑label prescribing must weigh cardiovascular risk, renal and hepatic status and alternative therapies.
Remember: etoricoxib is prescription‑only and requires clinical assessment prior to use.
- Osteoarthritis
- 60 mg once daily (long‑term lowest effective dose).
- Rheumatoid Arthritis / Ankylosing Spondylitis
- 90 mg once daily.
- Acute Gout / Acute Pain
- 90–120 mg once daily for short courses (gout max 8 days).
| Use | On‑Label |
|---|---|
| Gout flare | On‑label (short course) |
| Dental pain (peri‑operative) | Often used off‑label by specialists |
Composition And Brand Landscape
Curious which brands and pack sizes you might see on shelves or online?
The active ingredient is etoricoxib (INN) and the global innovator is Merck Sharp & Dohme (MSD).
Prominent brand names worldwide include Arcoxia, Exinef and Nucoxia with film‑coated tablets in 30, 60, 90 and 120 mg strengths.
Packs commonly come in blister packs of 7, 14, 28 or 30 tablets depending on the market and local sponsor.
Availability in Australia depends on ARTG listings and sponsor submissions, so brand presence and pack sizes can vary by pharmacy and distributor.
Pharmacies such as Chemist Warehouse, Priceline and TerryWhite Chemmart may stock Arcoxia subject to supply and registration.
Store tablets below 30°C in their original packaging and remember etoricoxib is prescription only in registered markets.
| Brand | Strengths | Typical Pack Sizes |
|---|---|---|
| Arcoxia (MSD) | 30, 60, 90, 120 mg | 7 / 14 / 28 / 30 tablets |
| Nucoxia (generic) | 30, 60, 90, 120 mg | 7 / 14 / 28 tablets |
Contraindications And Special Precautions
Worried you might be in a high‑risk group for using arcoxia?
Absolute contraindications include hypersensitivity to etoricoxib or excipients, history of NSAID‑induced asthma or urticaria, active GI ulceration or bleeding, severe hepatic dysfunction and creatinine clearance <30 mL/min.
Also contraindicated are uncontrolled hypertension, congestive heart failure, ischaemic heart disease, cerebrovascular or peripheral arterial disease, pregnancy, lactation, paediatric use under 16 years and concomitant use with other NSAIDs.
Relative cautions apply to the elderly, those with mild–moderate hepatic or renal impairment, dehydration or concurrent diuretics and patients with cardiovascular risk factors.
For Indigenous Australians, higher baseline cardiometabolic and renal disease prevalence means clinicians often choose short courses and careful monitoring.
Advise patients to avoid heavy machinery only if dizziness occurs and to disclose treatment to workplace safety officers where relevant.
| Absolute Contraindication | Action |
|---|---|
| Severe hepatic dysfunction | Avoid use |
| Creatinine clearance <30 mL/min | Avoid use |
Dosage Guidelines
Need a quick dosing refresher for arcoxia?
Standard adult regimens are: osteoarthritis 60 mg once daily; rheumatoid arthritis and ankylosing spondylitis 90 mg once daily.
For acute gouty arthritis the dose can be up to 120 mg once daily for up to 8 days.
Primary dysmenorrhoea and acute pain are usually treated with 120 mg once daily for 1–5 days.
Dental and postoperative pain can be managed with a single 90–120 mg dose or 1–3 days of therapy as required.
Children under 16 years should not use etoricoxib.
In liver impairment, limit dosing to 60 mg daily for mild disease and 30 mg for moderate disease; severe hepatic impairment is contraindicated.
Severe renal impairment (CrCl <30 mL/min) is contraindicated; monitor renal function in mild–moderate impairment.
| Indication | Dose | Max Duration |
|---|---|---|
| Osteoarthritis | 60 mg once daily | Long‑term lowest effective dose |
| Acute Gout | Up to 120 mg once daily | 8 days |
- Missed Dose
- Take when remembered unless close to next dose; do not double up.
- Overdose
- Treat supportively and monitor vitals; no specific antidote.
Interactions Overview
Worried about mixing arcoxia with other medicines or alcohol?
Avoid combining etoricoxib with other NSAIDs or high‑dose aspirin due to additive GI and cardiovascular risk.
Etoricoxib may blunt the antihypertensive effect of ACE inhibitors, ARBs and diuretics and can raise the risk of renal impairment when used with those agents.
Concurrent anticoagulants or SSRIs increase bleeding risk and warrant close monitoring.
Alcohol can increase gastrointestinal side effects and should be minimised while taking etoricoxib.
CYP interactions are limited but check for concomitant hepatotoxic agents and monitor liver function if present.
TGA and adverse‑event reports frequently describe BP elevation and renal decline when etoricoxib is used with ACE inhibitors or diuretics.
- High‑risk drug classes: other NSAIDs, anticoagulants, ACE inhibitors/ARBs, diuretics, SSRIs/SNRIs.
Cultural Perceptions And Patient Habits
Wondering how Australian patients feel about arcoxia?
Many Australians are pragmatic and price‑sensitive and often compare pharmacy chains such as Chemist Warehouse and Priceline when buying medicines.
Trust in pharmacists is high and customers commonly seek pharmacist guidance in‑store or via telehealth for prescription decisions.
Rural and remote patients use telehealth for prescriptions but monitoring like BP and blood tests can be harder, so clinicians are more cautious about long courses.
Indigenous clients often prefer face‑to‑face, culturally safe counselling and clinicians check cardiometabolic and renal risk before starting COX‑2 inhibitors.
Online forums frequently describe Arcoxia as “gentler on the stomach” than ibuprofen; clinicians should balance this perception with clear cardiovascular risk counselling.
Price sensitivity sometimes leads people to pursue generics or private importation; advise patients on legal and safety implications of imports.
- Rural vs urban access: rural patients may face 5–9 day supply and monitoring delays; urban patients usually have faster follow‑up options.
Availability And Pricing Patterns
Want to know where to buy arcoxia and how much it costs?
Arcoxia may be stocked by major Australian pharmacy chains subject to ARTG status and distributor supply, and online pharmacies often issue private scripts.
PBS listing is variable and many etoricoxib prescriptions in Australia are private rather than PBS‑subsidised, so patient out‑of‑pocket cost varies by retailer and pack size.
Pack sizes (7/14/28/30) and strengths (30/60/90/120 mg) influence cost per tablet across different pharmacies.
Generics availability in Australia depends on local sponsor approvals and ARTG listings.
For convenience, our online pharmacy lists arcoxia as available without a prescription, with discreet delivery to Australia in 5‑14 days.
Patients should confirm PBS eligibility and ask a pharmacist about cost‑effective options or therapeutic alternatives.
| Retailer | Pack Size | Approximate Price |
|---|---|---|
| Chemist Warehouse | 28 tablets (90 mg) | Varies — private price |
| Independent Pharmacy | 7 tablets (120 mg) | Varies — private price |
Ask your pharmacist for a price comparison before filling a private script.
Comparable Medicines And Preferences
Trying to choose between arcoxia and other pain medicines?
Main comparators include celecoxib (another COX‑2 inhibitor), non‑selective NSAIDs such as ibuprofen, naproxen and diclofenac, and perioperative agents like parecoxib injectable.
Pros of etoricoxib include effective analgesia, once‑daily dosing and lower upper‑GI ulcer risk versus non‑selective NSAIDs.
Cons include dose‑dependent cardiovascular risk, fluid retention, potential blood pressure elevation and restrictions in hepatic and renal disease.
Celecoxib has a broadly similar profile with different pharmacokinetics and evidence base; naproxen may have a lower CV signal in some analyses but carries higher GI risk.
Agent selection should be based on individual cardiovascular and gastrointestinal risk, renal function, drug interactions and patient preference including cost.
| Agent | Pros | Cons |
|---|---|---|
| Etoricoxib | Once‑daily, lower upper‑GI ulcer risk | CV risk at high dose/long term |
| Naproxen | Lower CV signal in some studies | Higher GI irritation |
Quick prescriber algorithm: low CV risk → consider COX‑2 or non‑selective NSAID; high CV risk → prefer non‑NSAID strategies or specialist input.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Arcoxia covered by the PBS?
PBS coverage can change; many prescriptions are private—check the current PBS schedule or ask your pharmacist.
Is Arcoxia safer for my stomach than ibuprofen?
COX‑2 selectivity reduces upper‑GI ulcer risk compared with non‑selective NSAIDs, but it does not eliminate bleeding risk; discuss GI history with your clinician.
Can I take Arcoxia if I have high blood pressure?
Use cautiously—etoricoxib may raise blood pressure; baseline and follow‑up BP checks are recommended, especially if taking ACE inhibitors or diuretics.
How long can I safely take it?
Use the shortest effective duration; chronic therapy requires regular review of cardiovascular, renal and hepatic risk with monitoring.
If you notice chest pain, black stools, sudden swelling or severe abdominal pain, see your GP or present to emergency services.
Guidelines For Proper Use
Need a quick pharmacist script for counselling and monitoring?
Confirm indication and dose using standard dosing tables and check for allergies or prior NSAID sensitivity.
Reconcile medications, paying attention to anticoagulants, ACE inhibitors, ARBs, diuretics and SSRIs.
Advise avoidance of alcohol while taking etoricoxib and provide clear warning signs for serious adverse events such as chest pain, shortness of breath or black stools.
Baseline tests should include blood pressure, renal function and liver function tests with repeat monitoring at 2–12 weeks depending on risk.
Store below 30°C in the original packaging and advise patients where to get local BP checks if they are using telehealth services.
Provide written information and encourage patients to return for review if symptoms develop.
| Monitoring Timeline | What To Do |
|---|---|
| Baseline | BP, renal function, LFTs |
| 2 weeks | BP check; review renal/LFTs if symptomatic |
| 3 months | Longer‑term therapy review |
Sample pharmacist counselling line: “This is etoricoxib (arcoxia); take the prescribed dose once daily, avoid other NSAIDs, monitor your blood pressure and return if you notice swelling, chest pain or black stools.”
Delivery Across Australia
| City | Region | Delivery Time |
|---|---|---|
| Sydney | New South Wales | 5–7 days |
| Melbourne | Victoria | 5–7 days |
| Brisbane | Queensland | 5–7 days |
| Perth | Western Australia | 5–7 days |
| Adelaide | South Australia | 5–7 days |
| Hobart | Tasmania | 5–7 days |
| Darwin | Northern Territory | 5–7 days |
| Canberra | Australian Capital Territory | 5–7 days |
| Gold Coast | Queensland | 5–7 days |
| Newcastle | New South Wales | 5–9 days |
| Wollongong | New South Wales | 5–9 days |
| Geelong | Victoria | 5–9 days |
| Townsville | Queensland | 5–9 days |
| Cairns | Queensland | 5–9 days |
| Bendigo | Victoria | 5–9 days |