Zyvox

Zyvox

Dosage
600mg
Package
12 pill 20 pill 32 pill
Total price: 0.0
  • In our pharmacy you can buy zyvox without a prescription, with delivery across Australia in 5–14 days and discreet packaging; no receipt is required.
  • Zyvox (linezolid) is used to treat serious Gram‑positive infections including MRSA and VRE (complicated skin/soft tissue infections and pneumonia); it is an oxazolidinone antibiotic that inhibits bacterial protein synthesis by binding the 50S ribosomal subunit and preventing formation of the initiation complex.
  • The usual adult dose is 600 mg every 12 hours (oral or IV); children receive about 10 mg/kg every 8–12 hours (not exceeding 600 mg per dose); typical courses are 10–14 days, with up to 28 days for more serious infections.
  • Zyvox is supplied as 600 mg film‑coated tablets, a 100 mg/5 mL oral suspension, and IV vials (200 mg, 400 mg, 600 mg) for infusion.
  • Clinical improvement is often seen within 24–72 hours of starting therapy, though this varies with infection severity.
  • The dosing regimen is twice daily and the clinical duration of action is approximately 12 hours per dose (hence 600 mg every 12 hours).
  • Avoid or limit alcohol while taking zyvox; alcohol can worsen side effects and general well‑being during antibiotic therapy and may exacerbate neuropathy or liver issues.
  • The most common side effect is nausea; other frequent effects include diarrhoea, headache, altered taste and oral/vaginal thrush, with more serious risks (myelosuppression, neuropathy) after prolonged use.
  • Would you like to try zyvox without a prescription?
Trackable delivery 9-21 days
Payment method Visa, MasterCard, Discovery, Bitcoin, Ethereum
Free delivery (by Standard Airmail) on orders over A$305

Basic Zyvox Information

  • INN (International Nonproprietary Name): Linezolid
  • Brand Names Available In Australia: not specified
  • ATC Code: J01XX08
  • Forms & Dosages: Film-coated tablets 600 mg (10 or 20 per blister/box); Oral suspension 100 mg/5 mL (150 mL bottle); Powder for injection vials 200 mg, 400 mg, 600 mg.
  • Manufacturers In Australia: not specified
  • Registration Status In Australia: not specified
  • OTC / Rx Classification: Prescription (Rx) only

Latest Research Highlights

Patients and clinicians ask whether linezolid really works for resistant Gram-positive infections and what the safety trade-offs are.

International and national evidence supports linezolid as an effective reserve option for multidrug-resistant Gram-positive infections, including MRSA and VRE, with good oral bioavailability that helps hospital-to-home step-down care.

Comparative clinical evaluations commonly report clinical outcomes that are non-inferior to vancomycin for MRSA pneumonia and faster clinical improvement or earlier switch to oral therapy in mixed inpatient cohorts.

Safety surveillance emphasises cumulative haematological toxicity—particularly thrombocytopenia—after more than two weeks of therapy and growing reports of peripheral and optic neuropathy with prolonged courses.

Smaller Australian OPAT series report satisfactory functional outcomes when oral linezolid is used for early discharge, but they underline the need for close laboratory and neurological monitoring.

Tedizolid, a newer oxazolidinone, shows preliminary data suggesting similar efficacy with a possibly lower haematologic risk, but higher acquisition cost limits wider uptake in public systems.

Study/Setting Population Efficacy Outcome Major Safety Events
Systematic Reviews / International Multidrug-resistant Gram-positive infections Consistent clinical effectiveness; oral step-down feasible Myelosuppression >2 weeks; neuropathy with prolonged use
Comparative Trials (mixed cohorts) MRSA pneumonia and complicated skin infections Generally non-inferior to vancomycin; earlier clinical resolution in some cohorts Thrombocytopenia, anaemia in extended courses
Australian OPAT Series Hospital-to-home step-down patients Good cure rates and earlier discharge when oral linezolid used Require weekly CBC; neuropathy surveillance advised

Active monitoring metrics recommended include baseline and weekly platelet counts, haemoglobin and white cell counts for prolonged courses, plus routine screening for peripheral neuropathy and vision changes.

Remember the standard adult dosing: 600 mg every 12 hours given as 600 mg tablets, oral suspension 100 mg/5 mL, or IV vials 200/400/600 mg.

Clinical Effectiveness In Australia

Many GPs and patients wonder how linezolid fits into Australian practice compared with IV-only options.

Linezolid is treated as a specialist or hospital-led antibiotic in Australia and is generally reserved for resistant Gram-positive infections such as MRSA and VRE where vancomycin or daptomycin are unsuitable.

TGA approval aligns with international labels for complicated skin and soft tissue infections and pneumonia, and clinicians often select linezolid when an oral option is needed for OPAT or early discharge.

TGA adverse-event reporting highlights myelosuppression and neuropathies as principal risks, and state infectious disease services commonly advise weekly full blood counts for courses beyond seven to 14 days.

Public hospital sourcing and PBS use vary by state, and many hospitals obtain generics and manage outpatient supply through hospital pharmacies or OPAT programmes.

Australian OPAT cohorts report reliable cure rates and lower readmission when oral linezolid is appropriate, but infectious diseases oversight remains standard for off‑label or prolonged use.

  • Cure Rates: Reported as favourable in OPAT series when used for suitable indications.
  • Readmission: Lower when effective oral step-down is possible.
  • Major Adverse Events: Thrombocytopenia and neuropathy are the most clinically significant surveillance signals.

Standard dosing used in practice is 600 mg every 12 hours with typical durations of 10–14 days and up to 28 days in selected complicated infections with close monitoring.

Indications And Expanded Uses

Patients ask what linezolid is officially for and when specialists might prescribe it off‑label.

TGA-aligned indications cover complicated skin and soft tissue infections and certain community‑ or hospital‑acquired pneumonias caused by susceptible Gram-positive bacteria; in practice it is frequently used for MRSA and VRE where other agents are unsuitable.

Common specialist off‑label uses in Australia include osteomyelitis, prosthetic joint infections and select cases of infective endocarditis, particularly when IV access is problematic or when oral long-term suppression is required.

Use beyond 28 days is discouraged because of increasing risk of peripheral and optic neuropathy and myelosuppression; reassess therapy at two-week intervals when extended treatment is considered.

Off‑label prescribing should occur under infectious disease clinic oversight with documented informed consent and a clear monitoring plan.

  • TGA-Approved: Complicated skin/soft tissue infections, pneumonia caused by susceptible Gram-positive organisms.
  • Off‑Label (Specialist-Led): Osteomyelitis, prosthetic joint infection, selected endocarditis cases, prolonged outpatient suppression.

Clinician note: weigh the benefit of oral bioavailability and OPAT convenience against cumulative toxicity risks, especially for courses longer than two weeks.

Composition And Brand Landscape

Patients frequently ask what’s in the tablet and who makes it.

The active ingredient is linezolid (INN), an oxazolidinone classified under ATC code J01XX08.

Global brand and manufacturer options include the originator Pfizer product Zyvox (also marketed as Zyvoxid in some regions) and major generics from Sandoz, Mylan, Fresenius Kabi, Sun Pharma, Cipla and Accord.

In many regulated markets the same formulations are available: 600 mg film-coated tablets, a 100 mg/5 mL oral suspension (150 mL bottle) and powder for injection in 200 mg, 400 mg or 600 mg vials.

Brand Manufacturer Formulation Typical Pack
Zyvox Pfizer 600 mg tablets; 100 mg/5 mL suspension; IV vials 10 or 20 tablets blister; 150 mL suspension; single vials
Generic Linezolid Sandoz / Mylan / Accord 600 mg tablets; IV vials Blister packs; single vials

Pharmacists should note common pack sizes and storage: tablets store below 30°C and the reconstituted suspension is used within 21 days.

Hospitals commonly procure generics for OPAT supply, and private pharmacies source products through local distributors or hospital surplus for continuing outpatient therapy.

Contraindications And Special Precautions

People often want to know who must not take linezolid and what extra checks are needed.

Absolute contraindications include known hypersensitivity to linezolid or excipients and concomitant or recent (within two weeks) use of monoamine oxidase inhibitors (MAOIs).

Other contraindications or cautions include uncontrolled hypertension, untreated thyrotoxicosis and pheochromocytoma because of potential adrenergic and serotonergic risks.

High-risk Australian groups include the elderly (greater risk of myelosuppression and neuropathy), pregnant or breastfeeding women (avoid unless benefit outweighs risk), people with baseline blood dyscrasias and those with pre-existing neuropathies or vision problems.

Patients taking multiple serotonergic medicines—SSRIs, SNRIs, tramadol and some antiemetics—require specialist review before starting linezolid because of serotonin syndrome risk.

Risk Monitoring Action
Myelosuppression Baseline CBC; weekly CBC if treatment >7–14 days
Peripheral/Optic Neuropathy Baseline neuropathy/vision assessment; regular symptom screening for prolonged therapy
Serotonergic Interactions Medication reconciliation; involve specialist for antidepressant management

Advise patients to report new bruising, bleeding, numbness, visual changes or unexplained weakness immediately.

Dosage Guidelines

People ask what dose they should take and how long treatment runs for.

The standard adult dose is 600 mg every 12 hours, given orally or intravenously, commonly for 10–14 days for skin and soft tissue infections and pneumonia.

Paediatric dosing is typically 10 mg/kg every eight to 12 hours up to a maximum of 600 mg per dose.

Treatment may extend up to 28 days for complicated infections, but extended use increases the risk of neuropathy and myelosuppression and beyond 28 days is generally not recommended.

No routine dose adjustment is required in mild to moderate renal or hepatic impairment, but monitor for metabolite accumulation in severe renal failure or end-stage renal disease.

Population Dose Route Typical Duration Monitoring
Adults 600 mg q12h Oral or IV 10–14 days (up to 28 days in special cases) Baseline CBC; weekly CBC if >7–14 days
Children 10 mg/kg q8–12h (max 600 mg) Oral or IV 10–28 days depending on infection Paediatric monitoring per specialist advice
Elderly 600 mg q12h Oral or IV As for adults, with closer monitoring Frequent CBC and neuropathy checks

Counselling points: take doses 12 hours apart at consistent times, do not double up if a dose is missed and seek urgent review for signs of bleeding or vision change.

Interactions Overview

Patients commonly worry about mixing linezolid with their antidepressant or pain medicines.

Linezolid is a reversible MAO inhibitor and can precipitate serotonin syndrome when combined with SSRIs, SNRIs, MAOIs, certain triptans, tramadol or atomoxetine.

Adrenergic reactions and hypertensive crises can occur with sympathomimetics and high‑tyramine foods, so counsel patients to avoid aged cheeses, fermented products and other high-tyramine items during therapy and for at least 48 hours after stopping.

Concomitant use with other myelosuppressive agents (for example zidovudine) increases haematologic risk and requires added vigilance.

  • Drug/Food → Risk → Practical Action:
  • SSRIs/SNRIs/Tramadol → Serotonin syndrome → Specialist review before co-prescription; consider temporary adjustments.
  • MAOIs (within 2 weeks) → Severe interactions → Absolute contraindication.
  • Tyramine-rich foods → Hypertensive reaction → Avoid during treatment and 48 hours after.

Perform a full medication reconciliation before starting linezolid and check over-the-counter herbal or supplement use that may affect serotonin.

Cultural Perceptions And Patient Habits

People often ask how others feel about a powerful antibiotic like linezolid and what practical barriers they face.

Australian patients tend to view reserve antibiotics as effective but risky, with common concerns about cost, necessary blood tests and nerve damage from long courses.

Price sensitivity and reliance on PBS funding shape decisions—many patients prefer hospital provision or PBS-subsidised access before accepting outpatient therapy.

Rural and Indigenous communities experience access gaps with fewer local infectious disease specialists and longer travel distances for blood tests and ophthalmology checks.

Telehealth and e-prescriptions have become important access enablers since COVID, allowing community pharmacies and OPAT services to coordinate monitoring remotely.

Community pharmacists in major chains and local services are trusted sources for counselling on storage, side effects and arranging PBS eligibility checks.

  • Urban Vs Rural Barriers:
  • Urban: Easier OPAT access, quicker pathology and specialist review.
  • Rural: Longer travel for monitoring, reliance on telehealth, need for local pathology coordination.

Use plain language when counselling, and involve Aboriginal health workers for culturally safe shared decision-making where appropriate.

Availability And Pricing Patterns

Patients and prescribers want clear guidance on where to get linezolid and what it might cost.

Linezolid is commonly stocked on hospital formularies and is obtainable from community pharmacies with a valid prescription, and some hospitals supply outpatient doses for OPAT.

Retail channels include major chains and accredited online pharmacies that require e-prescriptions or telehealth scripts.

Pricing varies by supplier, brand versus generic choice and whether PBS subsidy applies; many patients rely on hospital supply or PBS authority scripts to reduce out‑of‑pocket costs.

Be aware that legitimate online pharmacies will verify prescriptions before dispatch and importing product from overseas risks substandard or unregistered supplies.

In our online pharmacy, zyvox is available without a prescription, with discreet delivery to Australia in 5-14 days.

Outlet Type Typical Access / Pricing Note
Public Hospital Pharmacy Often supplies OPAT packs; generics procured for inpatient and outpatient use.
Community Pharmacy (Chains) Dispense on prescription; pricing varies by brand and PBS eligibility.
Accredited Online Pharmacy Require e-prescription; delivery times vary; prescription verification standard.
Private Import Not recommended; regulatory risks and possible substandard product.

Available formulations include 600 mg tablets, 100 mg/5 mL suspension and IV vials; storage and handling follow standard guidance to preserve product quality.

Comparable Medicines And Preferences

Clinicians commonly compare linezolid with other agents for resistant Gram-positive infections to choose the right therapy.

Therapeutic alternatives include vancomycin (IV glycopeptide), daptomycin (IV lipopeptide), tigecycline (IV glycylcycline) and tedizolid (a newer oxazolidinone).

Drug Route Strengths Limitations
Vancomycin IV Established activity for MRSA; hospital familiarity Requires therapeutic drug monitoring and IV access
Daptomycin IV Good for bloodstream and soft-tissue infections Not effective for pulmonary infections
Tigecycline IV Broad activity for complicated infections Higher adverse-event profile; limited bloodstream efficacy
Tedizolid IV/Oral Potentially shorter courses and less haematologic risk Higher cost; limited PBS uptake

Preference drivers in Australia include infection site, need for oral switchability, renal function, cost and local resistance patterns assessed by stewardship teams.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Can I take linezolid at home?

A: Yes, if prescribed with appropriate monitoring and no contraindications; the oral 600 mg tablet enables OPAT or home-based therapy for eligible patients.

Q: How long is treatment?

A: Typical courses are 10–14 days; treatment may be extended to 28 days in specialist-managed complicated infections but prolonged use increases neuropathy and blood-count risks.

Q: Do I need blood tests?

A: Yes—baseline full blood count and weekly CBC monitoring are advised for courses beyond seven to 14 days to detect thrombocytopenia and anaemia.

Q: Can I take it with antidepressants?

A: Only with specialist oversight; combining with serotonergic antidepressants carries a risk of serotonin syndrome and requires careful management.

Q: Is it on the PBS?

A: Access and subsidy depend on indication and state funding; many patients receive hospital-supplied doses or require authority scripts for PBS subsidy.

When To Seek Immediate Help: severe rash, unexplained bleeding or bruising, vision changes, new numbness or weakness, high fever, or symptoms of serotonin syndrome such as agitation, confusion, high heart rate and high blood pressure.

Missed Dose Advice: take the missed dose as soon as remembered unless it is close to the next scheduled dose—do not double up.

Guidelines For Proper Use

Pharmacists and prescribers benefit from a short practical checklist to ensure safe prescribing and dispensing.

Confirm indication, allergy history and recent MAOI or serotonergic medicine use before supplying linezolid.

Document baseline full blood count and a vision assessment if therapy is likely to exceed 14 days.

Advise patients to take 600 mg every 12 hours at consistent times, and to avoid doubling doses if one is missed.

Common side effects to mention include nausea, taste disturbance, candidiasis and insomnia.

Monitor CBC weekly for extended courses and screen patients each visit for neuropathic symptoms such as pins and needles or visual changes.

Storage: keep tablets below 30°C and protect from humidity; suspension after reconstitution should be stored at 20–25°C and used within 21 days; IV vials should be stored at room temperature and protected from light.

For telehealth and rural workflows, arrange e-prescriptions linked to OPAT nursing services and local pathology collection, and set up ophthalmology referral pathways where prolonged treatment is likely.

Delivery Across Australia

City Region Delivery Time
Sydney New South Wales 5-7 days
Melbourne Victoria 5-7 days
Brisbane Queensland 5-7 days
Perth Western Australia 5-7 days
Adelaide South Australia 5-7 days
Canberra Australian Capital Territory 5-7 days
Hobart Tasmania 5-7 days
Darwin Northern Territory 5-9 days
Gold Coast Queensland 5-7 days
Newcastle New South Wales 5-7 days
Wollongong New South Wales 5-7 days
Geelong Victoria 5-7 days
Cairns Queensland 5-9 days
Townsville Queensland 5-9 days